State and Chapter Events


January, 2020

Date and Time Event Description and Location
Thursday, January 23, 2020
7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
South Hampton Roads Chapter Meeting
Norfolk Botanical Garden, Norfolk VA
Saturday, January 25, 2020
10:00 am - 1:00 pm
Tree Identification Walk with Toni Woods
Meadowlark Botanical Gardens, Vienna Virginia
Sunday, January 26, 2020
2:00 pm - 4:00 pm
Growing Hope; Backyards and Beyond with Matt Bright
Emmanuel Episcopal Church, Delaplane VA

February, 2020

Date and Time Event Description and Location
Saturday, February 8, 2020
9:00 am - 2:30 pm
Stop Mowing, Start Growing - Native Plants for Beginners
Northern Virginia Community College – Workforce Center, Woodbridge VA
Saturday, February 8, 2020
9:30 am - 12:30 pm
Winter Greens Walk with Margaret Chatham
Runnymede Park, Herndon Virginia
Monday, February 10, 2020
11:30 am - 1:00 pm
Talking Native Plants
Sheridan Livery, Lexington VA
Tuesday, February 11, 2020
7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
New River Chapter Meeting
Karr Activity Center, Blacksburg VA
Wednesday, February 12, 2020
7:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Invasive Plants in Virginia State Parks
Ivy Creek Natural Area – Education Building, Charlottesville VA
Thursday, February 13, 2020
7:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Nature's Puzzle: How Our World Depends on Plants with Alonso Abugattas
Green Spring Gardens, Alexandria VA
Sunday, February 23, 2020
3:00 pm - 5:00 pm
February Author Lecture: Dr. Doug Tallamy
Manassas Park Community Center, Manassas Park VA
Thursday, February 27, 2020
7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
South Hampton Roads Chapter Meeting
Norfolk Botanical Garden, Norfolk VA

March, 2020

Date and Time Event Description and Location
Thursday, March 5, 2020
7:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Herbivory: Why It Is Important That Plants Get Eaten with Charles Smith
Bethel Lutheran Church, Manassas Va
Friday, March 6, 2020
9:15 am - 1:00 pm
HOAs and Condo Associations: Sustainable Solutions to Landscaping Headaches
Richard J. Ernst Building (Building CE), Northern Virginia Community College, Annandale VA
Saturday, March 7, 2020
10:00 am - 1:00 pm
Tree Identification Walk with Toni Woods (Location TBA)
Monday, March 9, 2020
11:30 am - 1:00 pm
Talking Native Plants
Sheridan Livery, Lexington VA
Tuesday, March 10, 2020
7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
New River Chapter Meeting
Karr Activity Center, Blacksburg VA
Tuesday, March 10, 2020
7:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Potowmack Chapter Board Meeting
George Mason Regional Library, Annandale VA
Wednesday, March 11, 2020
7:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Jefferson Chapter Meeting
Ivy Creek Natural Area – Education Building, Charlottesville VA
Thursday, March 12, 2020
7:30 pm - 9:30 pm
Getting to Know and Love Your Ferns with Kit Sheffield
Green Spring Gardens, Alexandria VA
Saturday, March 14, 2020
9:00 am - 3:15 pm
VNPS Annual Workshop 2020
Piedmont Community College, Charlottesville Virginia
Saturday, March 21, 2020
9:00 am - 11:00 am
Monthly Plant Walk
Ivy Creek Natural Area, Charlottesville VA
Thursday, March 26, 2020
7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
South Hampton Roads Chapter Meeting
Norfolk Botanical Garden, Norfolk VA

April, 2020

Date and Time Event Description and Location
Saturday, April 4, 2020
9:00 am - 3:00 pm
South Hampton Roads Chapter Native Plant Sale
Francis Land House, Virginia Beach VA
Wednesday, April 8, 2020
7:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Jefferson Chapter Meeting
Ivy Creek Natural Area – Education Building, Charlottesville VA
Tuesday, April 14, 2020
7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
New River Chapter Meeting
Karr Activity Center, Blacksburg VA
Saturday, April 18, 2020
9:00 am - 11:00 am
Monthly Plant Walk
Ivy Creek Natural Area, Charlottesville VA
Thursday, April 23, 2020
7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
South Hampton Roads Chapter Meeting
Norfolk Botanical Garden, Norfolk VA
Sunday, April 26, 2020
All Day
Jefferson Chapter Native Plant Sale
Ivy Creek Natural Area – Barn, Charlottesville VA

May, 2020

Date and Time Event Description and Location
Friday, May 1, 2020 - Saturday, May 2, 2020
10:00 am - 3:00 pm
Norfolk Botanical Garden Plant Sale
Norfolk Botanical Garden, Norfolk VA
Saturday, May 2, 2020
9:30 am - 1:30 pm
John Clayton Chapter Annual Native Plant Sale
Williamsburg Community Building, Williamsburg va
Wednesday, May 13, 2020
7:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Plant Propagation at the Nature Foundation at Wintergreen
Ivy Creek Natural Area – Education Building, Charlottesville VA
Saturday, May 16, 2020
9:00 am - 11:00 am
Monthly Plant Walk
Ivy Creek Natural Area, Charlottesville VA
Thursday, May 28, 2020
7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
South Hampton Roads Chapter Meeting
Norfolk Botanical Garden, Norfolk VA

June, 2020

Date and Time Event Description and Location
Saturday, June 20, 2020
9:00 am - 11:00 am
Monthly Plant Walk
Ivy Creek Natural Area, Charlottesville VA

July, 2020

Date and Time Event Description and Location
Saturday, July 18, 2020
9:00 am - 11:00 am
Monthly Plant Walk
Ivy Creek Natural Area, Charlottesville VA

August, 2020

Date and Time Event Description and Location
Saturday, August 15, 2020
9:00 am - 11:00 am
Monthly Plant Walk
Ivy Creek Natural Area, Charlottesville VA

September, 2020

Date and Time Event Description and Location
Tuesday, September 8, 2020
7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
New River Chapter Meeting
Karr Activity Center, Blacksburg VA
Saturday, September 19, 2020
9:00 am - 11:00 am
Monthly Plant Walk
Ivy Creek Natural Area, Charlottesville VA
Friday, September 25, 2020 - Sunday, September 27, 2020
All Day
VNPS 2020 Annual Meeting and Conference
Southwest Virginia Cultural Center, Abingdon VA

October, 2020

Date and Time Event Description and Location
Tuesday, October 13, 2020
7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
New River Chapter Meeting
Karr Activity Center, Blacksburg VA
Saturday, October 17, 2020
9:00 am - 11:00 am
Monthly Plant Walk
Ivy Creek Natural Area, Charlottesville VA

November, 2020

Date and Time Event Description and Location
Tuesday, November 10, 2020
7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
New River Chapter Meeting
Karr Activity Center, Blacksburg VA
Saturday, November 21, 2020
9:00 am - 11:00 am
Monthly Plant Walk
Ivy Creek Natural Area, Charlottesville VA

December, 2020

Date and Time Event Description and Location
Tuesday, December 8, 2020
7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
New River Chapter Meeting
Karr Activity Center, Blacksburg VA