Board of Directors

The Board of Directors manages the Society and consists of the Officers, which constitute the Executive Committee, Chairs of the Standing Committees, Directors-At-Large, and the Chapter Representatives.  Any member of the Society in good standing who is actively engaged in the conservation of Virginia’s native plants may be elected to the Board.

The Officers, Directors-At-Large, and Standing Committee Chairs are elected at the annual meeting from a slate prepared by the Nominating Committee, to serve a term of three (3) years. The Chapter Representatives are presidents of the chapters, unless appointed by their board to represent the president.

The Annual Meeting and a Board of Directors meeting is regularly held in September. Three (3) other Board meetings are held in June, December and March. View the VNPS Event Calendar.

Board Meeting Minutes

Elected Officers

TitleNameEmail AddressPhone
PresidentNancy Vehrsnvehrs1@yahoo.com703-368-2898
1st Vice PresidentKevin Howe juniper@erols.com

2nd Vice PresidentSally Andersonrccsca@comcast.net540-722-3072
TreasurerKathleen Stasulis stasulisss@hotmail.com H: 757-486-5485
C: 757-576-5485
Recording SecretaryElizabeth (Betty) Truaxemtruax@outlook.com703-506-1819

Directors of Standing Committees

TitleNameEmail AddressPhone
PublicationsVacant
RegistryCharles Smith
chrlssmith@outlook.com
703-581-8727
RegistryRod SimmonsRod.Simmons@alexandriava.gov
BotanyW. John Haydenjhayden@richmond.edu804-289-8232
ConservationAlexander Fisherarf2483@gmail.com
EducationEmily Fordemilyford@virginia.edu540-533-7630
HorticultureLaura Beaty laurabeaty@mac.com 703-534-8746
MembershipVacant
PublicityVacant
FundraisingMargaret (Peggy) Troyer alkatoma@netzero.com757-305-9263

Directors at Large

TitleNameEmail AddressPhone
Cathy Mayes mayescd@aol.com540-364-4525
Erika Gonzalezekagonzalez@gmail.com
Invasive Plant EducationRuth Douglascvilleruth@embarqmail.com804-293-6538
Invasive Plant EducationJim Hurley jehurley@mindspring.com
Natural HeritageJohn TownsendJohn.Townsend@dcr.virginia.govW: 804-225-4855
C: 804-912-4041
Website Manager Team
Caitlin CyrusCCyrus@vhb.com
561-818-9654
Website Manager TeamMark MurphyMark@mmurphy.net703-463-8452
Grants ManagerJoyce Wengerjoyce@wengerandwenger.com540-675-1166

Chapter Representatives

TitleNameEmail AddressPhone
Blue Ridge Wildflower Society Ellen Holtman, Presidenteholtman@comcast.net
(540) 389-1514
Butch Kelly, RepresentativeButch2410@msn.com(540) 384-7429
JeffersonMary Lee Epps, Presidentmse5e@virginia.edu(434) 973-8172
John ClaytonLucile Kossodo, Presidentlkossodo@cox.net
New RiverBrenda Graff, Presidentgraff_brenda@hotmail.com(540) 641-6005
Northern NeckTedd Munns, Presidenttedmunns@va.metrocast.net
PiedmontKaren Hendershot, Presidentwyshfulthinking@gmail.com703-297-0497
PocahontasLeslie Allanson, Presidentleleorr4@gmail.com
PotowmackAlan Ford, Presidentamford@acm.org(703) 732-5291
Prince William Wildflower SocietyNancy Vehrs, Presidentnvehrs1@yahoo.com(703) 368-2898
South Hampton RoadsSteve Stasulis, Presidentstasulisss@hotmail.com757-486-5485
Upper James RiverJan Smith, Presidentjanhuntersmith@gmail.com

Other

TitleNameEmail AddressPhone
Newsletter EditorNancy Sorrellslotswife@comcast.net(540) 377-6390
Office ManagerKaren York vnps.org@gmail.com(540) 837-1600