Board of Directors

The Board of Directors manages the Society.  It consists of the Officers, which constitute the Executive Committee, Chairs of the Standing Committees, Directors-At-Large, and the Chapter Representatives.  Any member of the Society in good standing who is actively engaged in the conservation of Virginia’s native plants may be elected to the Board.

The Officers, Directors-At-Large, and Standing Committee Chairs are elected at the annual meeting from a slate prepared by the Nominating Committee, to serve a term of three (3) years. The Chapter Representatives are presidents of the chapters, unless appointed by their board to represent the president.

The Annual Meeting is regularly held in September. Three (3) other Board of Director meetings are held in June, December and March.

Elected Officers

TitleNameEmail AddressPhone
PresidentNancy Vehrsnvehrs1@yahoo.com(703) 368-2898
1st Vice PresidentNick Ferriterferriter@aol.com
2nd Vice PresidentSally Andersonrccsca@comcast.net(540) 722-3072
TreasurerCathy Mayesmayescd@aol.com(540) 364-4525
Recording SecretaryElizabeth (Betty) Truaxemtruax@outlook.com(703) 506-1819

Directors of Standing Committees

TitleNameEmail AddressPhone
PublicationsBland Crowderblandcrowder@blandcrowder.com(804) 304-3292
RegistryCharles Smith
chrlssmith@outlook.com
703-361-5125
BotanyW. John Haydenjhayden@richmond.edu(804) 289-8232
ConservationMarcia Mabee Marcia.mabee@gmail.com
EducationEmily Fordemilyford@virginia.edu
RegistryRod SimmonsRod.Simmons@alexandriava.gov
HorticultureJohn Magee john@john-magee.com540-687-5331
MembershipRoxanne Paulrangerrox@msn.com
PublicityJoyce Wengerjoyce@wengerandwenger.com(703) 493-8207

Directors at Large

TitleNameEmail AddressPhone
Shirley Gayshirleywg@icloud.com(703) 920-1913
Erika Gonzalezekagonzalez@gmail.com
Kathi Mestayerkwren@widomaker.com(757) 229-6575
DCRJohn TownsendJohn.Townsend@dcr.virginia.gov(804) 786-4554
Invasive Alien Plant Working GroupRuth Douglascvilleruth@embarqmail.com(804) 293-6538
Website Manager
Suzanne Dingwellsuzdingwell@gmail.com(561) 818-9654

Chapter Representatives

TitleNameEmail AddressPhone
Blue Ridge Wildflower Society Ellen Holtman, Presidenteholtman@comcast.net
(540) 389-1514
Butch Kelly, RepresentativeButch2410@msn.com(540) 384-7429
JeffersonMary Lee Epps, Presidentmse5e@virginia.edu(434) 973-8172
John ClaytonLucile Kossodo, Presidentlkossodo@cox.net
New RiverMary Rhoades, Presidentmrhoades@vt.edu540/ 674-1294
Northern NeckKevin Howe, Presidentjuniper@erols.com
PiedmontSally Anderson, Presidentrccsca@comcast.net(540) 722-3072
PocahontasLeslie Allanson, Presidentleleorr4@gmail.com
PotowmackAlan Ford, Presidentamford@acm.org(703) 732-5291
Prince William Wildflower SocietyNancy Vehrs, Presidentnvehrs1@yahoo.com(703) 368-2898
ShenandoahMichael Seth, Vice Presidentsethmj@jmu.edu
South Hampton RoadsBeth Richardson, Presidentbethrichardson@cox.net
Upper James RiverJan Smith, President
janhuntersmith@gmail.com


Other

TitleNameEmail AddressPhone
Newsletter EditorNancy Sorrellslotswife@comcast.net(540) 377-6390
Office ManagerKaren York vnps.org@@gmail.comt(540) 837-1600