Board of Directors

The Board of Directors manages the Society.  It consists of the Officers, which constitute the Executive Committee, Chairs of the Standing Committees, Directors-At-Large, and the Chapter Representatives.  Any member of the Society in good standing who is actively engaged in the conservation of Virginia’s native plants may be elected to the Board.

The Officers, Directors-At-Large, and Standing Committee Chairs are elected at the annual meeting from a slate prepared by the Nominating Committee, to serve a term of three (3) years. The Chapter Representatives are presidents of the chapters, unless appointed by their board to represent the president.

The Annual Meeting is regularly held in September. Three (3) other Board of Director meetings are held in June, December and March.

Elected Officers

TitleNameEmail AddressPhone
PresidentNancy Vehrsnvehrs1@yahoo.com(703) 368-2898
1st Vice PresidentJanet Pawlukiewicz janetjed@gmail.com

202-494-2270
2nd Vice PresidentSally Andersonrccsca@comcast.net(540) 722-3072
TreasurerKathleen Stasulis stasulisss@hotmail.com H: 757-486-5485
C: 757-576-5485
Recording SecretaryElizabeth (Betty) Truaxemtruax@outlook.com(703) 506-1819

Directors of Standing Committees

TitleNameEmail AddressPhone
PublicationsBland Crowderblandcrowder@blandcrowder.com(804) 304-3292
RegistryCharles Smith
chrlssmith@outlook.com
703-581-8727
RegistryRod SimmonsRod.Simmons@alexandriava.gov
BotanyW. John Haydenjhayden@richmond.edu(804) 289-8232
ConservationVacant
EducationEmily Fordemilyford@virginia.edu540-533-7630
HorticultureLaura Beaty laurabeaty@mac.com 703 534-8746
MembershipRoxanne Paulrangerrox@msn.com703-438-6000
PublicityVacant
FundraisingMargaret (Peggy) Troyer alkatoma@netzero.com757 305-9263

Directors at Large

TitleNameEmail AddressPhone
Cathy Mayes mayescd@aol.com540-364-4525
Erika Gonzalezekagonzalez@gmail.com
Kathi Mestayerkwren@widomaker.com(757) 229-6575
DCRJohn TownsendJohn.Townsend@dcr.virginia.govW: 804-225-4855
C: 804-912-4041
Invasive Alien Plant Working GroupRuth Douglascvilleruth@embarqmail.com(804) 293-6538
Website Manager
Suzanne Dingwellsuzdingwell@gmail.com(561) 818-9654
Joyce Wengerjoyce@wengerandwenger.com540-675-1166

Chapter Representatives

TitleNameEmail AddressPhone
Blue Ridge Wildflower Society Ellen Holtman, Presidenteholtman@comcast.net
(540) 389-1514
Butch Kelly, RepresentativeButch2410@msn.com(540) 384-7429
JeffersonMary Lee Epps, Presidentmse5e@virginia.edu(434) 973-8172
John ClaytonLucile Kossodo, Presidentlkossodo@cox.net
New RiverMary Rhoades, Presidentmrhoades@vt.edu540/ 674-1294
Northern NeckKevin Howe, Presidentjuniper@erols.com
PiedmontSally Anderson, Presidentrccsca@comcast.net(540) 722-3072
PocahontasLeslie Allanson, Presidentleleorr4@gmail.com
PotowmackAlan Ford, Presidentamford@acm.org(703) 732-5291
Prince William Wildflower SocietyNancy Vehrs, Presidentnvehrs1@yahoo.com(703) 368-2898
South Hampton RoadsSteve Stasulis, Presidentstasulisss@hotmail.com757-486-5485
Upper James RiverJan Smith, President
janhuntersmith@gmail.com


Other

TitleNameEmail AddressPhone
Newsletter EditorNancy Sorrellslotswife@comcast.net(540) 377-6390
Office ManagerKaren York vnps.org@gmail.comt(540) 837-1600