Board of Directors

The Board of Directors manages the Society.  It consists of the Officers, which constitute the Executive Committee, Chairs of the Standing Committees, Directors-At-Large, and the Chapter Representatives.  Any member of the Society in good standing who is actively engaged in the conservation of Virginia’s native plants may be elected to the Board.

The Officers, Directors-At-Large, and Standing Committee Chairs are elected at the annual meeting from a slate prepared by the Nominating Committee, to serve a term of three (3) years. The Chapter Representatives are presidents of the chapters, unless appointed by their board to represent the president.

The Annual Meeting is regularly held in September. Three (3) other Board of Director meetings are held in June, December and March.

Elected Officers

TitleNameEmail AddressPhone
PresidentNancy 368-2898
1st Vice PresidentNick
2nd Vice PresidentSally 722-3072
TreasurerCathy 364-4525
Recording SecretaryElizabeth (Betty) 506-1819

Directors of Standing Committees

TitleNameEmail AddressPhone
PublicationsBland 304-3292
RegistryCharles Smith
BotanyW. John 289-8232
ConservationMarcia Mabee
HorticultureJohn Magee john@john-magee.com540-687-5331
PublicityJoyce 493-8207

Directors at Large

TitleNameEmail AddressPhone
Shirley 920-1913
Kathi 229-6575
DCRJohn 786-4554
Invasive Alien Plant Working GroupRuth 293-6538
Website Manager
Suzanne 818-9654

Chapter Representatives

TitleNameEmail AddressPhone
Blue Ridge Wildflower Society Ellen Holtman,
(540) 389-1514
Butch Kelly, 384-7429
JeffersonMary Lee Epps, 973-8172
John ClaytonLucile Kossodo,
New RiverMary Rhoades, Presidentmrhoades@vt.edu540/ 674-1294
Northern NeckKevin Howe,
PiedmontSally Anderson, 722-3072
PocahontasLeslie Allanson,
PotowmackAlan Ford, 732-5291
Prince William Wildflower SocietyNancy Vehrs, 368-2898
ShenandoahMichael Seth, Vice
South Hampton RoadsBeth Richardson,
Upper James RiverJan Smith, President


TitleNameEmail AddressPhone
Newsletter EditorNancy 377-6390
Office ManagerKaren York 837-1600